There are many Idaho seat belt laws you may not know about. Understanding these laws can keep you safe and help you avoid tickets. Protect yourself and others by following the different Idaho seat belt laws.
What are the Idaho Seat Belt Laws?
- In Idaho, kids must ride in booster seats until they are at least eight years old or 4’9″ tall — whichever comes first. Until then, they should be in a rear-facing car seat. Statistics show that less than 20% of children use the correct types of restraints. Children are some of the most vulnerable passengers in car crashes, so it’s very important to keep them as safe as possible.
- You will receive a $10 fine if you are pulled over and not wearing a seat belt. Many people are fighting to increase this fine, pointing out that it is the lowest fine in the country and unlikely to change driver behavior.
- In Idaho, you will be fined if minors in your car are not properly restrained. You will have to pay for other people not using their seat belts. Before you start driving, make sure everyone in your car buckles up.
Facts about Idaho Seat Belt Laws
- The Idaho state government is paying “$9 million in health care costs every year for traffic crash injuries which would have been prevented by seat belt use.” Idahoans end up paying 85% of those costs with their tax dollars.
- When seat belts are used correctly, they reduce the likelihood of injury and death.
- Idaho seat belt use is lower than most other states.
- Most people killed in car crashes were not wearing their seat belt.
Pay attention to Idaho seat belt laws. You can help protect your safety, your family’s safety, and the safety of others in your community.
If you are injured in an accident caused by a careless driver, we can help you. The legal process is confusing and frustrating, but we can help you make sense of it. Contact us today and meet with an attorney for free.